Press Association (6.16.05)


Anita Singh, PA Showbusiness Editor

Punk veteran Siouxsie Sioux picked up the Icon Award tonight at the Mojo Honours.

The singer beat David Bowie, John Lydon, Marc Bolan and The Ramones to the title.

The award, voted by readers of Mojo magazine, was presented by U2's The Edge.

Siouxsie - real name Susan Dallion - began her career in the late 70s and her band Siouxie and the Banshees were one of Britain's most successful punk acts.

Bands including Franz Ferdinand have hailed them as their musical inspiration.

The awards were held at the Porchester Hall in Bayswater, west London.

Madness were inducted into the Mojo Hall of Fame after a career spanning more than 25 years.

Paul Weller won the Songwriter Award, triumphing over Van Morrison, Kate Bush, Brian Wilson and relative newcomer Damien Rice.

Robert Wyatt was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr John was crowned the Mojo Legend and there were also awards for the Gang of Four, The Fall, Steve Earle, Dr John and Jeff Beck.

The Magic Numbers were named Best New Act.

Winners: Mojo Icon Award - Siouxsie Sioux
Mojo Inspiration Award - Gang of Four
Mojo Songwriter Award - Paul Weller
Mojo Best New Act Award - The Magic Numbers
Mojo Vision Award - Martin Scorsese Presents The Blues
Mojo Catalogue Release of the Year - The Fall - The Complete Peel Sessions 1978-2004
Mojo Lifetime Achievement Award - Robert Wyatt
Mojo Maverick Award - Steve Earle
Mojo Medal - Chess Records collected by Marshall Chess
Mojo Image Award - Jim Marshall
Mojo Roots Award - Chris Hillman
Mojo Merit Award - Sly & Robbie
Mojo Legend - Dr John
Mojo Hero - Roy Harper
Mojo Classic Album Award - The Pogues: Rum Sodomy and the Lash
Mojo Hall of Fame Award - Madness
Mojo Les Paul Award - Jeff Beck

Accepting her award, Siouxsie Sioux struck a customary defiant note when she complained about the lack of women among the winners.

"I'm the token female winner," she told the audience at the Porchester Hall. "I think we need a few more women up here."

Madness received their award from comedian Phill Jupitus and Mercury Music Prize winner Dizzee Rascal.

Jupitus described the band as "quintessentially English" and said: "They are this country's house band."

Young rapper Rascal added: "They have made so many people happy with their music even before I was born and everything."

Up on stage, Madness frontman Suggs joked that an award was a long time coming.

"We were in the pub before the award talking about the good old days. They were so long ago it's extraordinary we're still here," he said.

Presenters of the awards included Ray Davies, Bill Wyman, Sinead O'Connor, Pink Floyd's Dave Gilmour, Shane MacGowan, Shaun Ryder, Bez and Slash.

Contributed by Jerry Burch.

Back to Articles